Greetings!

lonelymtn

Lifetime Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been brewing for almost 5 years now. This past year, I down-sized considerably from my 3-pot 20-gal each top-tier blichmann setup to the grainfather (I can now actually use dining area). Also using Brewer's Friend now instead of Beersmith and so far I am liking it. This weekend is my 4th brew on the grainfather and I am borrowing a grain mill to try and troubleshoot some efficiency problems.

My theory is that the default setting at the LHBS was fine when I had a larger surface area for mash/sparge in the 20 gallon pots, but it's not nearly fine enough for the GF. For instance, when I fly sparge, the liquor almost flies through.

Anyway, glad to be here!

Boil for longer? Just add hops later in boil? What's the difference MAJOR between Beersmith and Brewers friend??
I've only used Brewers friend not that I'm keen to change but you here so much about beer smith.

i also use beersmith , getting the equipment profile set up is a bit tricky ( yet to even try a grainfather ) .
have a look in the add ons for a GF equip profile if you haven't already
getting the grain crush right makes a difference to overall efficiency .
what sort of gap are you thinking of trying ?
my grain comes pre-milled at 1.4 mm , depending on what grain i order i do see whole kernels coming in the bag which hurts my brewhouse numbers

Well I don't have a grain mill. I don't have a grain father. I brew in a bag in a 50lt keg. I milled my own grains today for the first time in my thermomix so just blended em up. 70 % brew house efficiency. As for f tonight's brew I looked at the grist post mash and I saw quite a lot,of whole grains. Good luck mate

I ended up doing two passess on a 2-roller Barley Crusher at a gap of 0.38. My mash efficiencies were nearly spot on to what they should have been. So, that seems to have fixed that problem.