question about malt extract

BeerGeekCa

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hello,

A newb question about malt extracts.

Since I am a beginner, I am using ready-made kits (e.g. coopers), which call for about 1 kg of sugar to be added.
I read that replacing the add-on sugars with dry or liquid malt extract creates a better flavor.
But isn't the kit already made up of liquid malt with some hops?

What is the difference between the malt extract in the kit and the malt add-ons that I buy?

If they are the same, do I even need the kit, or should I just buy liquid malt extract and use that ?

Hello,

Since I am a beginner, I am using ready-made kits (e.g. coopers), which call for about 1 kg of sugar to be added.
I read that replacing the add-on sugars with dry or liquid malt extract creates a better flavor.

What is the difference between the malt extract in the kit and the malt add-ons that I buy?

If they are the same, do I even need the kit, or should I just buy liquid malt extract and use that ?
If the malt extract that the kit has is already hopped, then the extra LME/DME that you would add, would add more malt and more gravity, certainly giving a different flavour than just sugar. BUT, it wont add any more hops. Do the kits have hops to be boiled or is it only hopped malt?

Table sugar would only add more gravity resulting in more alcohol. Personally would avoid a kit that suggests using sugar to finish it. seems like they are just cheaping out on the LME/DME, which cots more.

honestly though, consider going into all grain. there is not really much more complexity to it and you have control over the process. only thing you have to buy is a brew bag. can make it all in the same kettle you boil in now. :cool:

The kits are hooped, I attached a picture of the ingredients.
So instead of buying a kit, I can just buy LME and add hops (how do I add hops to LME, cook it together ?) ?