A small batch aka 1st run beer!

CoFlyGuy

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Greetings fellow brewers. I am new to this whole brew thing. I was given this recipe by a friend but can't seem to get a few things in line. This is a small batch recipe at 2 gallons when complete.

Anyway, some of my numbers are way off of his and I am kind of trying to figure out if one of us is mixing up a calculation somewhere.

I am looking at getting an OG of 1.053 a FG of 1.012 a color of 7-8 SRM 25 IBUs and an ABV of 5.4%. My current recipe, as you will see is way over those numbers. Any help in tweaking this would be greatly appreciated.

https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/1308251/tiny-pale

Greetings fellow brewers. I am new to this whole brew thing. I was given this recipe by a friend but can't seem to get a few things in line. This is a small batch recipe at 2 gallons when complete.

Anyway, some of my numbers are way off of his and I am kind of trying to figure out if one of us is mixing up a calculation somewhere.

I am looking at getting an OG of 1.053 a FG of 1.012 a color of 7-8 SRM 25 IBUs and an ABV of 5.4%. My current recipe, as you will see is way over those numbers. Any help in tweaking this would be greatly appreciated.

You can probably lower your efficiency. 70% is totally obtainable, but you probably won't hit that on your first brew. 65% is a safe place to start.

Do you know how much liquid your kettle boils off in an hour? I doubt it's a full gallon. My 4.5 gallon pot loses 2.5 quarts per hour.

You could lower the amount of caramel malt until you hit your target SRM number. Same with the 20 minute CTZ addition, lower it until you hit your target IBUs.

You will need to mash these grains as this is an all grain recipe. Your only water addition says "steeping", but technically it's a mash. Most people mash the grains for around 60 minutes. That's a safe place to start.

Hope that helps!