Step Mashing issues

It's also possible that there's a small leak somewhere, the CO2 is getting out some way that doesn't include the airlock.
Those buckets don't usually leak. Unless there was something between the gasket and the bucket rim.

I checked gravity after 4 days, the OG was 1.042 and when I checked it after 4 days it was 1.035 so I assumed the yeast may have been working but not very aggressively.

I would agree that you may have lost some viable yeast cells when you added the yeast but it sounds like it is still working at it. Some great information provided about Mash out, one of the questions I still struggle with. I try mash out at 168 to 170 but I am still learning. Looking forward to listening to the
Mark listed.

I would agree that you may have lost some viable yeast cells when you added the yeast but it sounds like it is still working at it. Some great information provided about Mash out, one of the questions I still struggle with. I try mash out at 168 to 170 but I am still learning. Looking forward to listening to the Mark listed.
You can skip the mash-out at our scale. We heat our wort so quickly the remaining enzymes can't do much before they're denatured.

You can skip the mash-out at our scale. We heat our wort so quickly the remaining enzymes can't do much before they're denatured.