Humpty Dumpty English Bitter is likely a dumpty

Sebrina

Premium Member
Reaction score
Made my first beer with my grainfather all in one brewing, grainfather fermenter and glycol chiller. Let me say that ALL the equipment worked spectacularly and the recipes on the app were spot on when the next steps were necessary. However, as a novice, I made some big errors with equipment which caused me to have to dump the hot wort in fermenter and to use the gylcol chiller to cool it down. I messed up with chiller with amount of liquid (though I did what video said) and it was hours and hours before I figured out I should have the liquid in the tank up to the top.
I made so many stupid errors that I think the beer is ruined. I took a gravity reading this am and it is exactly at original gravity. I took a taste and was VERY sad. I am not familiar with English Bitter beer but if the taste is not good, should I assume the beer is ruined? I only have two fermenters and I have two more recipes that will need a couple of months. So I thought I would make something that doesn't need alot of time and will likely have to break down and buy another fermenter. I love these grainfathers. I can track its progress wirelessly no matter where I am.
Does anyone have an opinion about the beer being contaminated or just cooked poorly? Am I correct in thinking it should have had an acceptable flavor? The yeast is going to town.

If the yeast is "going to town" leave it be! Don't judge it until it is done. You can't rush the yeast, they are living organisms and proceed at their own pace.

What yeast did you use?
When did you pitch it?
What temperature are you fermenting at?

If the yeast is "going to town" leave it be! Don't judge it until it is done. You can't rush the yeast, they are living organisms and proceed at their own pace.

What yeast did you use?
When did you pitch it?
What temperature are you fermenting at?