Boil Volume Calculation

kkourmousis

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to Brewer's Friend and I am trying to figure out the recipe editor. One thing that I could not understand was what was the "Calc" button doing, concerning the Boil Volume. I was editing my Partial Mash recipe and each time I was pressing the button, the volumes got reduced!

I tried editing an BIAB recipe and the button seems to work solid there. So maybe there is a bug?

One last thing, I read that there is a big update coming regarding the Quick Water and Mash Guidelines. I feel like these two should be connected, but now Mash Guidelines are more like commentary, is this correct? For example, if I want to guide readers of my recipe to top off the batch with water in the fermenter, I find it pretty tricky to do. If I increase the batch size at the top, then the pre-boil volume changes (but this is not what I want).

I hope I explained it good enough, English is not my native language :rolleyes:

Cheers

Your English might not be your home language, but be assured that you communicate perfectly well, better than some who were born here.

Hello everyone,

I am new to Brewer's Friend and I am trying to figure out the recipe editor. One thing that I could not understand was what was the "Calc" button doing, concerning the Boil Volume. I was editing my Partial Mash recipe and each time I was pressing the button, the volumes got reduced!

I tried editing an BIAB recipe and the button seems to work solid there. So maybe there is a bug?

One last thing, I read that there is a big update coming regarding the Quick Water and Mash Guidelines. I feel like these two should be connected, but now Mash Guidelines are more like commentary, is this correct? For example, if I want to guide readers of my recipe to top off the batch with water in the fermenter, I find it pretty tricky to do. If I increase the batch size at the top, then the pre-boil volume changes (but this is not what I want).