Need racking/siphoning advice- no auto-siphon

SabreSteve

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
So as many of you already know from other threads I'm fairly new to this. I'm about 10 days out from my first brew day and approaching my target bottling day. I've made some mistakes along the way and that includes purchasing my equipment. I had bought a siphoning kit assuming it had everything I needed. Realized a couple days after brewing upon inspecting it that my racking cane is not an auto-siphon. So I immediately went on Amazon and bought an auto-siphon that would fit the tubing from my kit. It was supposed to be here yesterday now Amazon is telling me it's running late. I'm afraid it's lost, the first hydrometer I ordered through Amazon got lost and never showed up. I can't even apply for a refund if it doesn't show till my target bottle day. I considered buying another one and if they both arrive returning one but I can't find one that will ship in time. So I'm left with my racking cane and manual siphon kit.
I've never in my life been able to get a siphon started with sucking on it (which has left some pretty bad tastes in my mouth) but that doesn't seem sanitary enough for homebrewing. I did, before I knew what I was doing, install spigots in both my buckets (including my fermenter). On further reading it seemed like I made a mistake from a sanitation perspective putting a spigot on a bucket I'd primarily be racking from but it has left me another option. I could transfer the beer to the bottling bucket by using the spigot on the fermenter but I know that'll like result in more sediment ending up in my bottling bucket. Other than that I'm just praying my auto-siphon shows up. If anyone has any advice, suggestions, ancient siphoning secrets I'd appreciate it. I should also mention my kit is missing the shutoff clamp so that could complicate manual siphoning.
Thanks.