Are carbonation drops a good idea or not?

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm just starting out. I've seen various carbonation drops on the market and wondered if any of you experienced brewers had an opinion on them? I'd like to start using them if possible as it makes things a bit simpler when bottling.

Thanks

I have never used them but my understanding is they are basically sugar pills you drop in the bottle then fill the bottle with beer. Different number of tabs (even a half tab on occasion) per bottle depending on the bottle size. I imagine they are way easier and faster to use than a more traditional priming sugar addition method.

I considered it but I prefer the carbonation volume control I can have using regular table sugar or malt extract. Besides, the carb drops are crazy expensive in my neck of the world and I am cheap like Ebenezer Scrooge.

The Beer Friend phone app has a priming sugar calculator app. Easy peasy.

Hi there, I'm just starting out. I've seen various carbonation drops on the market and wondered if any of you experienced brewers had an opinion on them? I'd like to start using them if possible as it makes things a bit simpler when bottling.

Thanks
Are you bottling into 16 ounce PET (plastic) bottles? If so, I've done the math: Use a standard (about 3 gram) sugar cube. It'll do the same thing as the carbonation drops at a lot lower price. A one-gallon batch will give at most 8 of these bottles so you should be able to consume them before any microbes on the sugar cubes could cause any problems. Fill the bottle, drop in a sugar cube, seal and drink two weeks later.

Thanks

I don't bottle much anymore but when I do I use the Cooper's carb drops and like the results well enough. It certainly does make bottling a bit less bothersome.