General advice for higher ABV needed

Reaction score
Hi there. I'm new to all this - I've now brewed, fermented and drunk two of those Brooklyn one gallon kits. They were ok, but the ABV was much lower than it says on the kit. The first was was the New England IPA kit which says 5% on the box, but I got OG 1042, FG 1021 (2.76%).

The next I made was the Warrior Double IPA kit, supposed to be 7%. The OG was 1052 and FG 1021 meaning I got just 4.07%.

I've since brewed three more (not kits but easy recipes) and bottling two this weekend so I'll know the FG then (OG for each was 1089 and 1062).

I was wondering what I'm doing wrong? Am I not sparging enough? Should I circulate the wort over the grain 3-4 times maybe? I'm currently recirculating once (so twice total) as that's what the Brooklyn recipes say.

I really try and push down on the strainer to get as much wort as I can but it's tricky with the stovetop set up I have. Any advice appreciated.

Thanks as always

Jonny

For this, it would help to know what's in the kit and the process it recommends.... I suspect there's a process problem somewhere so it would help if you could tell us exactly how you made the beer.

Pretty standard. Now it would help to know how you did it. Did I read you were pouring wort over the grains as a sparge step? If that's true, that's the first place to look - because that will not work. You need to sparge with water, you're rinsing the sugar from the grains.

Actually the most likely step resulting in too low OG is the boil. If you're not boiling vigorously enough, you will have more less saturated wort than you want. Here's a good way to track your gravity:

Mashing --> sugars. Unless you add additional sugars, the amount of sugar is constant.
Since sugar is constant, calculating results is simple proportions. G1*V1=G2*V2.
The only way the amount of sugar can change is if you lose wort, for example to grain or hop absorption or wort left in the kettle.