What is this?

You could probably call it a tropical stout. Reads like it may end up something like the stouts brewed in the Carribean and African ex-English colonies. I like a few of the ones I've tried. Can be a bit sweet to some people's tastes.

You could probably call it a tropical stout. Reads like it may end up something like the stouts brewed in the Carribean and African ex-English colonies. I like a few of the ones I've tried. Can be a bit sweet to some people's tastes.

I'm one of those weirdos that likes a little bit of residual sweetness to my beer.

On a similar note, do you think this would work out if I barrel aged half of it?

I was thinking rum or cognac barrel aging since you mentioned tropical.

7 oz of lactic acid?

Here is my water report. I'm not very good at the whole water thing, but a guy at the LHBS metnioned adding Lactic Acid to help. Any advice to bring it inline for the mash?

upload_2020-6-3_13-37-13.png

I can't really comment on the lactic acid...I have never used it. I'm not a fan of sours and my mash/brew pH is handled by the use of RO and a few brew salts. Your grain bill looks pretty good to me but I don't brew stouts or porters at the moment. The only thing I might do is put in a little less of the melanoidin. I find it gives the beer a sharpness to it...but that might fit with a stout style.

I like the idea of aging in a rum or cognac barrel, especially if the brew is on the sweet side. The flavor that inevitably infuses the beer out of the barrels might give it a really nice flavor that compliments any lingering sweetness after the fermentation. I have been toying with the idea of using a whiskey barrel myself.