A Home Brewbie

^Tony^

Premium Member
Reaction score
Good day! Gotta say, I love this site. Lots of good feedback and insight. Friendly people and well run. I have not yet seen anyone speak harshly or nasty to anyone else yet and hope i never will!

I am a brewbie from Western Canada. I started brewing after sitting at a backyard BBQ, griping with a great fellow brew fan and even better friend about how hard it was to find some craft brews I'd never tried before. I figured then and there to just start making my own! That was 3 years and a crap ton of brewing ago. I've read just about everything brew related I can get my hands on and more. Now, after more than a few disasters and a few more kick a$$ brews here I am.

If anyone has any great resource reading (besides Palmer :D) they found useful please let me know!

Great to meet you!

Currently rereading: Randy Mosher's Mastering Homebrew. Solid book in my opinion. Pretty in depth but also covers a lot of the early fundamentals that new brewers are looking for. I like referencing it for malt profiles and hop profiles.

Also, LOVING - The Secrets of Master Brewers by Jeff Alworth - wicked cool book.

I enjoy Zymurgy and Craft Beer and Brewing magazines.

I've been reading Designing Great Beers by Ray Daniels, and it is nerd-tastic. Also, I reread my old Craft Beer and Brewing magazines occasionally. They never stop being informative. If you subscribe, don't let them go, hang on to them.... it's not hoarding if you're still reading them.

Designing Great Beers is a good read for sure! My wife got me Craft Beer and Brewing but I did not renew it. A bit heavy on craft beer that I couldn't taste and not enough about brewing - for me anyway... I do love my BYO subscription though! I use the website regularly too!

Welcome!
I am re-reading John Palmer's book, but you already got that one :)

@Trialben I love the brulosophy site! So many good "experiments"! I will have to check out Braukaiser.