My Honey Pale Ale

EbonHawk

Trial Member
Reaction score
This is one recipe that I've brewed several times, and it is always a hit. It's the one people remember and they keep asking when the next batch is going to be made.

This is the first time I've brewed it as an all-grain batch, my first 10+ gallon batch (all previous ones ranged from 1 gal to 6 gal). I've been brewing for 20+ years, so I've done my fair share of experimenting, and I've learned some good and some bad habits, as far as brewing and bottling is concerned.

This is a 10.5 gal batch of a Honey Pale Ale, using Equinox & Cascade hops.
http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/r ... y-pale-ale

The only thing I would like to change about it is to get more of the honey flavor to show through in the final product without losing any hop character.

I've brewed so many variations of this basic recipe that it's not even funny. From all the way down to using only 1# of honey, to using English Ale hops (Fuggles, UK East Kent Golding hops, a rainbow assortment of different malts, etc). I've used honey as my priming sugar source. About the only variation that I've not tried is to add the honey to a secondary ferment.

your really not going to get honey flavor from real honey, all the honey will ferment and leave no real flavor no matter wear you put it, I would suggest using honey malt

+1 for the honey malt

Could you back sweeten it like a mead? Or would that just be priming with a bit more honey than you need,which could lead to bottlebombs?
Although, I guess with mead you use something to stop the yeast from fermenting, which wouldn't carb the bottles anyway

Ozarks Mountain Brew said:
your really not going to get honey flavor from real honey, all the honey will ferment and leave no real flavor no matter wear you put it, I would suggest using honey malt