Thin Krausen

JWR_12

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Beginner here again. So I have brewed a fair number of batches at this point. And when things have gone well, generally, I have a thick krausen by day 2. I just brewed a batch on Saturday (two days ago), using Saf Ale 05. I tried to do everything right, and hydrated the yeast in advance. 1 packet.

Anyways, the beer is bubbling, but the fermentation is not the fast bubble / thick krausen I normally get at this stage. There's a thin krausen at the top.

The beer is at about 63 degrees.

I should say the batch is in a larger fermentor (3 gallons in a 5 gallon fermenter).

I guess my question is how concerned should I be that this has not taken off like a rocket. And if it never develops a noticeably vigorous ferment and thick krausen, is that a problem?

Thanks!

John

Don't be concerned at all. Many variables cause the speed of fermentation.

Yeast health
Yeast nutrients
Fermentability of the wort
Mash temp
Fermentation temp.

As long as it gets going and finishes, good to go

Hi @JWR_12 welcome to the forum.
The topic of hydrating dry yeast has been discussed much of late. In general, it is not necessary to hydrate dry yeast before pitching, but many do anyways. I am in the camp of never hydrating dry yeast that is within its window of freshness - I just pitch it dry right on top of the wort, and have never had any problem getting active fermentation. I even got good results this summer with a dry Farmhouse Ale Saison-style yeast that was months past it’s “expiration” date.
If you do hydrate the dry yeast, then it might be beneficial/necessary to oxygenate the wort prior to pitching your now liquid yeast. If you did not oxygenate the wort by splashing the wort into the fermenter while transferring from the kettle, and/or vigorous shaking and rocking of the fermenter, then you might have shortchanged the yeast.