Newer Brewer

jste99

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm Josh. I'm new to brewing. I became interested after seeing my brother brew his first batch. I am currently in the secondary fermentation of my second brew. The first came with the kit the wife bought me for Christmas from Northern Brewer. I brewed the Chinook IPA. It turned out to be a successful brew. My current brew is also a LME Kit from Northern Brewer called John Q. Adams Marblehead Lager. I wanted something good for the summer that wasn't too bitter. I will be bottling this weekend. I'm looking forward to expanding my brewing to more complex recipes and such. I would like to try BIAB and eventually when I can afford it go to the multi-tier system. My current equipment consists of the Northern Brewer Deluxe Starter Kit with the two glass carboys. I also bought an 8 gallon Tall Boy Kettle from Northern Brewer. Other than that, it's pretty basic. I'm contemplating on buying a wort chiller next. I was looking at the silver serpent or the copperhead. If you have a suggestion for that, I will take any advice. Also, if you have any advice for me as a home brewer, I would gladly take it. Thanks for reading.

Josh

It's a fun hobby that you can just as deep into as you wish. I'm a BIAB brewer with no plans to "advance" to a 3 vessel system. I am quite happy with the beer I produce, and my beer is just as real as beer made from extract kits, or beer that was made any other way.