Need to aerate wort if use a yeast starter?

Brewer #393052

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello

I'm still a beginner, I've brewed several 1-gallon batches in the past few months, and I'll start brewing my first 5-gallon batch soon. I have a question related to wort aeration and yeast starter:
I've read that the purpose of aerating the wort in the fermenter is to dissolve more oxygen in it so the yeast can start by multiplying, so you have enough yeast cells to do the fermentation properly.
I also know that the purpose of the yeast starter is to have the yeast multiply in the starter flask before pitching them into the wort, so you have enough yeast cells for the fermentation.

So when I think about it, it seems to me that both those actions accomplish the same goal: having the proper count of yeast cells at the beginning of the fermentation.

My question is: then, do we have to do both? Isn't it redundant?

Thanks for your help!

Hello

I'm still a beginner, I've brewed several 1-gallon batches in the past few months, and I'll start brewing my first 5-gallon batch soon. I have a question related to wort aeration and yeast starter:
I've read that the purpose of aerating the wort in the fermenter is to dissolve more oxygen in it so the yeast can start by multiplying, so you have enough yeast cells to do the fermentation properly.
I also know that the purpose of the yeast starter is to have the yeast multiply in the starter flask before pitching them into the wort, so you have enough yeast cells for the fermentation.

So when I think about it, it seems to me that both those actions accomplish the same goal: having the proper count of yeast cells at the beginning of the fermentation.

Thanks for your help!
Any time you do Not use dry yeast, you add oxygen to the liquid.

So in your circumstance, yes, aerate both.

Why? Dry yeast has the 'stuff' it needs to do its thing without oxygen, wet yeast does not.

Hello

Thanks for your help!