NubeBuster

Trial Member
Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing. I am doing a sugar wash to distill.

I see many different and confusing topics about yeast nutrient. I simply don't know whether I should add nutrients or not. Firstly, the reason I don't want to add nutrients is because they are not broadly available in my country. Secondly, to make it myself, I would need conservative-free raisins - also not broadly available.

Main question
Do I need to add yeast nutrient to a sugar wash with turbo yeast? It will only distill for about 48 hours, supposedly.

Secondary question, if so
Can I simply boil bakers' yeast to death, and use that as nutrient?

Any off-flavours from the dead bakers' yeast should vanish after a distilling run, or two. Right?

I am fairly new to brewing. I am doing a sugar wash to distill.

I see many different and confusing topics about yeast nutrient. I simply don't know whether I should add nutrients or not. Firstly, the reason I don't want to add nutrients is because they are not broadly available in my country. Secondly, to make it myself, I would need conservative-free raisins - also not broadly available.

Main question
Do I need to add yeast nutrient to a sugar wash with turbo yeast? It will only distill for about 48 hours, supposedly.

Secondary question, if so
Can I simply boil bakers' yeast to death, and use that as nutrient?

Any off-flavours from the dead bakers' yeast should vanish after a distilling run, or two. Right?
You CAN do all of those things. We are brewers - we generally nourish our yeast with wort derived from mashing barley malt. It has everything in it the yeast needs with possible exception of some calcium from the water. If I understand correctly and you are attempting to grow yeast in sugar, yes, you need nutrients. And yes, baker's yeast boiled to death should provide some nutrients, I can't speak to it providing all of them.

Good luck with it!