Want to change my mash/sparge setup for small batches

Sunfire96

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm very new to brewing with 2 completed brews under my belt, both one gallon all-grain recipes. I would like to mash and brew in the same kettle, but was wondering if I could use several small grain bags for my mash (I don't want to commit to BIAB due to low efficiency). If I have 1.8-2.5 lbs of milled grain in multiple small bags (about 8"x8") and mash at 150F for an hour, could I lift and place the bags into a strainer over the brew kettle, and then sparge and recirculate over them like normal? Would the size of the bags limit the amount of sugar extracted from the grain? Again, I'm very new and trying to find a process that works best for me and my small space/equipment :) thank you so much!

For small batches, BIAB works very well. I brew 2.5 gallon batches. I buy elastic top brew bags on Amazon (3 for $7). I get several uses from each bag. You can then mash at full volume and eliminate the sparge step or mash at a lower volume and sparge as you described.

Thank you! I don't currently have a brew kettle large enough for BIAB for a one gallon batch. My hope is to mash and boil in the same kettle, because it's the largest cooking pot I have.

I only use the BIAB method and I make 2, 3 and 5 gallon batches. I would put all of your grain in one bag. I also squeeze the bag to get as much of the liquid as possible.

FYI, efficiency at our scale doesn't really matter as long as you get it the same every time. You're talking maybe 100-200g of additional grain to save yourself a lot of hassle.

FYI, efficiency at our scale doesn't really matter as long as you get it the same every time. You're talking maybe 100-200g of additional grain to save yourself a lot of hassle.

That's a good point, thanks!

It's really easy to get hung up on efficiency. But it is a lot less important for a home brewer than it is for a commercial setup.