Understanding Brew Language

AndrewO

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I'm very new to the Homebrewing process and as a result, I am not very familiar with the terms used.
I got a recipe dataset from a website called Kaggle and it contained which were scraped from this website.
Here are the values that were captured:
  • OG (Original Gravity)
  • FG (Final Gravity)
  • ABV (Alcohol By Volume)
  • IBU (International Bitter Unit)
  • Color
  • BoilSize
  • BoilTime
  • BoilGravity
  • Efficiency
  • MashThickness
  • SugarScale
  • BrewMethod
  • PitchRate
  • PrimaryTemp
  • PrimingMethod
  • PrimingAmount

What I would like like to know is, which of the fields, refer to how the beer was made and which of the fields describe the beer itself.

I appreciate any help I can get with this.

Hi guys!

I'm very new to the Homebrewing process and as a result, I am not very familiar with the terms used.
I got a recipe dataset from a website called Kaggle and it contained which were scraped from this website.
  • OG (Original Gravity)
  • FG (Final Gravity)
  • Color
  • BoilSize
  • BoilTime
  • BoilGravity
  • Efficiency
  • MashThickness
  • SugarScale
  • BrewMethod
  • PitchRate
  • PrimaryTemp
  • PrimingMethod
  • PrimingAmount

What I would like like to know is, which of the fields, refer to how the beer was made and which of the fields describe the beer itself.