To prime or not to prime?

richardfootman

Trial Member
Reaction score
So this may be a dumb question, but I'm new to all this so please do bear with me. I am brewing an apple cider from freshly pressed apples. Added the juice, yeast and sugar, and left it for 10 days, I then back sweetened with fresh apple juice, left it for two more days and tasted, and it was right where I (the wife) wanted it. So I have started cold crashing to stop fermentation and clear the cider a bit. Now my question is this, do I need to add a priming sugar for the bottling process in order to carbonate? Or will the remaining yeast&sugar that did not drop out during crashing, be enough to carbonate seeing as I stopped the process while fermentation was still happening? Any other advise or tips would be appreciated

Okay. First of all, carbonation of cider has to be handled a bit differently than beer. The problem is that you sweetening sugar will be treated just like your priming sugar by the yeast. If you kill or retard the growth of the yeast to prevent them from eating your sweetening sugar, this also prevents them from eating your carbonation sugar. Here are your options.

1. Backsweeten with apple juice or other fermentable sugar and chill. Fermentation will slow down significantly, but not completely stop. You will have sweet, but flat cider. Some people like that, but others prefer carbonation.
2. Leave cider dry and using priming cider or sugar for carbonation. This gives nice carbonation, but no extra sweetness. My wife and I prefer the dry cider so this works okay.
3. Kill the yeast with potassium metabisulfite and potassium sorbate. Backsweeten to taste. Put in a keg and force carbonate. This only works if you have a keg and not bottles.
4. Backsweeten with non-fermentable sweeteners. Many types of artificial sweeteners will work. Prime and bottle. Now you have sweet cider with carbonation. However, this doesn't work if you don't like artificial sweetener.