Tilt Hydrometer

Discussion in 'Brewer's Friend Announcements' started by Terrell, Jan 23, 2019.

  1. Terrell

    Terrell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SW Washington
    I have the latest Tilt app and an iPhone X. I got my tilt to work on one brew but no matter what I do it won't log on my latest. I've followed the instructions - past the logging URL into Tilt's cloud URL section and chose the right color in BF. I keep taking readings manually and each time Tilt says it's posting, but it's just not doing it. Feel like I'm banging my head against a wall.
     
  2. avantassel

    avantassel Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Brewer and Software Engineer
    Location:
    Lafayette, CO
    Home Page:
    You may need to deactivate the Tilt on one of your previous brew sessions. Look at your active device settings here.

    https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/profile/device_settings
     
  3. Terrell

    Terrell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SW Washington
    That got one of them working again. I'll have to keep playing with the other one. Thank you!
     
  4. Patrick_Annapolis

    Patrick_Annapolis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All,

    Is there a way to change when a sample is applied to the graph?
    I had an OG reading from a "Brew Day Complete" entry that I did on my actual brew day (before I received my Tilt in the mail).
    For whatever reason it was having an issue showing efficiency, so I deleted it and recreated it with the same date.
    The problem now is that the original OG date-stamped reading is now gone, and the new entry I created doesn't have the date stamp of what I entered. Instead it shows up in the graph at the actual time I entered it.
    This is throwing all my fermentation tab readings off because it's using the sample with the first date-time stamp as the OG to compute everything from.
    I can edit or delete entries that have been logged by the Tilt, but I can't edit anything that comes from the BrewLog.
    Is there a way to fix this or do I just need to be aware of this and more careful in the future?
     
  5. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,564
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    @avantassel ?

    I'm not able to answer your questions, but I know that the developer can, and provide all of the information you need. He will get to you ASAP!
     
    Patrick_Annapolis likes this.
  6. JonyMac

    JonyMac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Is there an instruction on how to get brewersfriend to pull data from the google docs sheet to track fermentation with the Tilt? I have the Tilt connected to an iPad which is posting the data to the google docs sheet every 15 minutes. Thanks!

    JonyMac
     
  7. Mase

    Mase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male

    Hey JonyMac! Click the integrations page under the fermentation tab (after you’ve started a brew), copy the Tilt URL and paste it in the Tilt app for where you want the data sent. I think it can only go to one place. (Limitations of the Tilt app for not allowing multiple destinations). Based on your post, you already have it pointing to google spreadsheet. Looks like you’ll have to wait for the next brew to use the Tilt in BF
     
  8. Mase

    Mase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Did you ever get back to him? I have the same question for future use.
     
  9. JonyMac

    JonyMac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks - is there a FAQ or writeup on this - had to do a lot of sleuthing to find the guru...
     
  10. Mase

    Mase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Not that I ever found... all by trial and error. One additional note. When you “add a note” in the Tilt App and upload it. The note will appear in “Edit” tab section, not the “Chart” tab.

    BF plots the information every 15 minutes automatically. If you add a “note”, it will show up on the BF chart within a minute or so. It shows up in the “Edit” section and you can see the note, but it will be another 15 minutes from then for the next update from the Tilt comes through.
     
    JonyMac likes this.
  11. Mark Farrall

    Mark Farrall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    1,422
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    If you want to log it to both brewersfriend and your Google spreadsheet in the Device Settings page that Mase mentioned there's a section called forwarders. You can place the URL for the spreadsheet in there and the brewers friend URL on your tilt. The tilt will log it with brewers friend and brewers friend will then log it with your spreadsheet.

    I haven't seen anything to upload a completed or ongoing batch to the fermentation section if that's what you're after.
     
    Snow likes this.
  12. Mase

    Mase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male

    Learn something everyday. Although if an admin or programmer is reading this, wouldn’t it make more sense to put the “forwarder” in the “Integrations” page? Or at least point to it.

    There you go JonyMac!
     
  13. JonyMac

    JonyMac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Sweet - maybe we should do a write up to put in the FAQ and send it to an admin to post...
     
    Yooper likes this.
  14. Tbrewer444

    Tbrewer444 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    You should look at the Raspberry Pi / Tilt solution, It takes your iPhone out of the equation. It integrates great with Brewer’s Friend. Your iPhone can’t monitor your brew when it is in your pocket out of the house. The Tilt iPhone app needs to be in the foreground to work.

    https://tilthydrometer.com/blogs/ne...ge-download-for-your-raspberry-pi-3-or-zero-w

    Why use Google Sheets when you have all the data in your brew session on BF.
    With Raspberry Pi you can download your data files to a USB stick if you want.
     
  15. JonyMac

    JonyMac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Mase and Ozarks Mountain Brew like this.
  16. Tbrewer444

    Tbrewer444 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My setup ;)
    IMG_0027.jpg
     
    Mase likes this.
  17. JonyMac

    JonyMac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    #17 JonyMac, Feb 6, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
    IMG_0485.jpg Sweet!

    How did you get the image to show up inline? When I used the image tool to point to the URL in the link above, it just shows as a broken image.
     
    avantassel likes this.
  18. Tbrewer444

    Tbrewer444 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Copy/drag photo to your desktop, then click on "Upload a File" and select it.
     
  19. Mase

    Mase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    There is a 1 MB size limit
     
  20. Tbrewer444

    Tbrewer444 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    There are ways to make an image smaller in size. (Sorry don't do Windows).


    Screen Shot 2019-02-06 at 10.15.46 AM.png
     

Share This Page

arrow_white