Smoked beer

EvanAltman36

Trial Member
Reaction score
Okay, so I really enjoyed Sam Adams Bonfire when it was included in their Fall sampler last year or a couple years back. With that in mind, I wanted to try to replicate some of that same flavor of that for a nice Fall beer. I'm still pretty new at this and I'm an extract brewer, so I'm interested in any advice people can offer on this. I have seen the comments urging the use of light extract vs. Munich and that has been duly noted (though not changed in the recipe yet). I want the smoked flavor front and center, so I guess that's the main thing I'm looking for advice on.

http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/r ... -rauchbier

Oop, recipe is not shared. Recipe Editor, Recipe Tools -> Share.

The 2 lbs of smoke malt will give a noticeable, but not too strong smoke presence, but not up to Rauchbier standards. I have found that one pound is not enough to even notice in the average beer, but two is about right.
as far as a proper Rauchbier is concerned, I use 7 lbs smoke malt in my recipe, and the smoke is quite strong.

http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/r ... /rauchbier

One thing to note, if you plan to use German smoke malt in an extract batch, do a partial mash. Steep it with the specialty grains at conversion temperatures (148 to 158 F) for 30 min to an hour in a fairly turbid solution. Without conversion the Smoke malt will leave some starches that will effect flavor and clarity.

It's interesting that you say that, as a buddy of mine madea clone of Stone smoked porter and only used .5oz in a 2.5 gallon batch and you could pick up the smokiness. I'm doing an extract batch and was worried that 2lb would be overkill.

EvanAltman36 said:
It's interesting that you say that, as a buddy of mine madea clone of Stone smoked porter and only used .5oz in a 2.5 gallon batch and you could pick up the smokiness. I'm doing an extract batch and was worried that 2lb would be overkill.