Scores

MrBIP

Premium Member
Reaction score
I entered my first contest and got score sheets this morning via email.
The APA I entered scored 35 and 37, so I was quite pleased with that given that that was my very first AG brew.
This was a smaller contest, somewhere around 200 total beers I'm guessing, and those scores of 35 and 37 got me nothing, no place, no mention, no nothing.

So the question is, how high does one need to score to place in such contests? I have zero experience so have no reference point.

Thanks,
MrBIP

It's really hard to say as every contest is a little different and you can never predict the unpredictability of the judges. I've won Best-In-Show with a 42 point RIS, but this past spring I only took 3rd place in a category with a 47 point Belgian Tripel. I have noticed the last couple years that it seems you need to be in at least the 40's to get any type of award; just a nod to how good we are all becoming at this hobby.

In the end, I try not to get too hung up on the score but more read for the comments; it's somebody's OPINION about your beer. If you like it and the people you share it with like it, then that is good enough for me!

Cheers!

Brewmaster Tom said:
In the end, I try not to get too hung up on the score but more read for the comments; it's somebody's OPINION about your beer.
Cheers!

Which was the primary reason for entering anyway. Friends and family say it's good, I like it, but thought it would be interesting to get it out to a different level and have a "certified opinion" :) .. I've got the same beer in another contest this weekend, so it will be interesting to compare the results.

Brewmaster Tom said:
but this past spring I only took 3rd place in a category with a 47 point Belgian Tripel.

Cheers!

47 THIRD PLACE! Wow! Did the first place beer have with a bar of gold in it? Geez.