Recipe Format Question

wharf_rat_brewer

Premium Member
Reaction score
Total noob here, but I'm struggling to correctly interpret some info I have seen in recipes here. In one of the BIAB recipes I am interested in trying, the mash guidelines dictate 10qt, type is "Temperature" at 148° for 60 minutes, then it states 4qt, type is "Infusion" at 160° for 20 min (see image below). But, I'm not certain I understand what that means. None of my searches have yielded and easily understood explanation for a beginner. Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

8skAt89
Capture.JPG

Probably heat 4 quarts on the stove to get mash to 160 add to the mash at 60 minutes. There is a calculator to help with what temp.

I BIAB all the time and I have no idea what this means.

Mash guidelines for BIAB should be incredibly simple.
Since it’s a full volume Mash, I would expect something like:

Amount - 14 qt (or whatever the full volume is needed for the mash)
Description - BIAB
Type - Single Infusion
Temp - 148 (or whatever temp you want to mash at)
Time - 60 (or however long you want to mash)

I believe there is a software update coming to simplify or improve the mash guidelines. Not sure what the status is.
@Pricelessbrewing

This may not answer your question directly, but there is a very good resource here for the new brewer. I highly recommend going through it,and referring to it often.
When I first started I brewed recipes that my local home brew shop offered, they also offered some guidance.
I would also recommend going on YouTube and looking at BIAB videos.

Whole bunch of ways to interpret those instructions. Doubt any of them will cause any big pluses or negatives, so do whatever you think is going to be your process. Mine is to add all the water, heat that to the mash temp, add the grains. Pull the bag when time's up, give it a decent squeeze and start heating to a boil.