Problem with Grainfather controller display and mash temperature

Discussion in 'General Brewing Discussions' started by Plaisantl, Mar 31, 2020.

  1. Plaisantl

    Plaisantl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hello !

    I have inherited an old Grainfather. The boiler and the pump are working quite well, but I have difficulties to maintain the temperature during the mash. I am wondering if it is linked with the message "off" displayed on the controller (see the picture attached to this message).
    I still can set the mash temperature. But the message "off" appears, then the temperature, then the message etc... I don't know how to fix this... Does someone know what it means and what's the solution ?

    Thanks a lot in advance !
    Ludo
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Hawkbox

    Hawkbox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    2,981
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Not sure, I don't know how you get an "old" grainfather but I'm a bit jealous.
     
  3. Plaisantl

    Plaisantl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    ^^I said old because it doesn't have the connect control box that exist since 2016. It belongs to a good friend who has started his own brewery, he doesn't use it anymore. So yes, I'm a bit lucky. ;p
     
    Hawkbox likes this.
  4. thunderwagn

    thunderwagn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    7,293
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    I have the connect systems so probably not much help, but have you tried the reset button on the very bottom of the unit? You'll have to turn the unit on its side or upside down to access the switch. Doubt that's the problem but worth a shot. Are you using an extension cord that's under rated maybe? You'd probably have more luck with an older Grainfather on the Grainfather site or Facebook group page. Facebook group it's very helpful for the most part, it you can ignore some of the worthlessness comments.
    Is this the US version?
     
    Plaisantl and Hawkbox like this.
  5. thunderwagn

    thunderwagn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    7,293
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    I've searched this out and haven't seen anyone that gets this resolved unless it's under warranty. Since you're out of warranty you have nothing to lose by taking things apart to see if you possibly have a bad connection someplace. I would also make sure your temp prob is properly inserted. Try a hard reset. Other than that, sounds like the controller is probably toast.
     
    Plaisantl likes this.

Share This Page

arrow_white