PPG?

chrsylte

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi

I am a Novice home brewer and use Beersmith up to today. Alot of nice things is said about Brewer's Friend (BF) so i am trying it out.

There is one challenge, and that is figuring out the PPG for custom grains. I am using Viking Malt's and there are no info about ppg's. Googled ppg, and found a formula http://www.howtobrew.com/section1/chapter3-4.html
Both the Brewer's Friend calc and the formula on howtobrew calculate with all the grains vs total G/liters.
In Brewer's Friend every custom grain needs to have a ppg, so how can i find this?

(If you are responding to this with formulas you need to explain in detail)

Skål!

The manufactures site will have the stats on all their grains, do not trust a formula for custom ppg and not a third party site go strait to the source
With that said if you just can't find it go to a major retailer like northern brewer find the grain the click details it should give some info

Thanks for the reply.

Let me use an example: Viking malt are made in Finland and i cant find ppg on any of their products. It seems that PPG is ofc. not used in Europe since gallon is not something we use. Liters is what is used.

So correct me if i am wrong PPG on European grain is not actually available unless they also aim for the American marked.

if thats the case I would just use the German malts in this calculator, there all very close as far as 2-row and cara-malts goes

Thank you for the reply.
Yes, think that can work. And use the Description / Notes, to write what type of malt i used to remember.

Hi again,

Done some more research. And i am kind of more confused. PPG is after what i understand measured after a mash.

Ref: from John Palmers website: http://www.howtobrew.com/section2/chapter12-5.html