Opinions on mIBU scale vs. Rager/Tinseth/etc.

naDinMN

Trial Member
Reaction score
I've never used it before, but it seems to make more sense than the others. Your thoughts?

That’s a good question. I guess my old school way recognizes that the IBU estimation via calculations involving break material, the SG, etc is not accurate, but it’s MY not-accurate. :)

Does that make sense? I know in my system that 75 IBUs tastes like XXXX, and while it may be totally different when scientifically measured, I know what that 75 IBUs (Tinseth) bitterness on my system will result in. And that’s all I really care about- the consistency among my beers in my system. It might be sort of the lazy way of thinking about it but I’m satisfied with the results.

In the end it probably doesn't matter which system you use, the most important thing is to choose a system and stick with it. Personally i don't care how many actual IBUs I have in my beer, I just need a calculator that will give me an idea of how bitter a recipe will be relative to other recipes I make. The same goes for any measuring tool in my brewery, I don't care if my thermometer reads a degree high or low, or if my refractometer is off a bit, all I care is that it is consistent. As long as I use the same tools every time, I will know how my beers will turn out.

To actually answer your question, yes, it does seem to make more sense, but for me I've been using Tinseth for so long that I see no reason to switch.

We're really just guessing at our IBUs anyway so I'm in Yooper's camp: Do what works. As I mentioned Saturday, for years I always brewed to the high end of IBUs for a style, then the altitude adjustment came. Had to reformulate a lot of recipes! If I really wanted to know, I guess I could pay for tests, not that important to me. Tinseth works for me and that's good enough.