New BIAB help

idyllbrew

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new at BIAB. I have been brewing with extract for 2 1/2 years. I have a 7.5 gallon Anvil brew pot. I cannot afford to purchase a 10 or 15 gallon brew pot at this time. Is there any adjustments I can make and still be able to end up with a 5 gallon wort. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you,

Bob

You can always just top off your fermentor with clean water to get the right volume. That's what I do since I don't have a pot big enough for a full boil

Last edited:
I second that, don't forget to adjust your recipe for the added water.

If looking to do full volume boil...
When I was doing BIAB 5 gallon batches in my 7.5 gal pot. I would always mash with 20 qt of water that would give me room in the pot for 10.5-11 pounds of gist. At the end of the mash I would raise the bag out of the pot and place a strainer under the bag on top of the pot. To finish I poured 170-175 degree water slowly over the grain to bring the wort up to the level I needed [usually 6.75-7 gal for my boil off rate]
You could also pull your bag out and place in a bucket of mash out temp water let rest for 15 min, pull the bag and let drain then add that additional mash out water to your kettle
Hope that helps

I've done that^^^, too. Just have to watch the boil at the hot break so it doesn't boil over.

Depending on the actual volume of your pot ( I had a 30 quart pot that went almost right to the top for 7.5 gallons) you can boil enough to get your target volume.