NEIPA using Australian ingredients

ppeterson

Premium Member
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at making my own recipe. I wanted to brew a NEIPA, but showcase some unique local ingredients.

In place of a typical German Pilsner malt, I'm using Joe White's Signature Australian Pilsner malt. It's a European-style 2-row. Plus the usual bill of flaked oats, barley, and wheat.

In place of a typical bill of American hops, I've gone for local high-alpha varieties. The feature hop is Vic Secret, with Galaxy as a backup, and a little bit of Ella. Also using Enigma for the second dry-hop after the primary fermentation is finished. It's a big hop bill - 250g for a standard sized batch!

Here's the full recipe: https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/1048254/victoria-s-secret

Would love to hear any feedback or criticism.

IBU's are kind of high for NEIPA, I would leave the first wort addition, but move the other boil additions to dry additions, your whirlpool additions look good, water profile, and malt bill look good. I would make the first dry addition when I pitch the yeast, and the second while there is still significant yeast activity. I have found that using a Kveik yeast helps with getting the dry additions in there early, and not leaving the beer sitting on them too long. Just my $0.02.

IBU's are kind of high for NEIPA, I would leave the first wort addition, but move the other boil additions to dry additions, your whirlpool additions look good, water profile, and malt bill look good. I would make the first dry addition when I pitch the yeast, and the second while there is still significant yeast activity. I have found that using a Kveik yeast helps with getting the dry additions in there early, and not leaving the beer sitting on them too long. Just my $0.02.
Thanks for the feedback! I'll definitely take that on board.