Mash thickness

Discussion in 'Brew Sessions' started by Microbrasserie Nuit Blanche, May 15, 2022.

  1. Brasserie Hecto

    Brasserie Hecto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    longueuil, QC
    Hello, I am noticing that I have my mash thickness set at 2.9 g/l on my recipe, but when I go to the mash chemistry page the mash thickness is 3.28. Which one is correct? Batch Code: HDLF001
    Thank you!
     
  2. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing BF Software Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the question!

    The mash thickness in your recipe builder is the accurate one at 2.9 L/kg.

    This is accounting for the 2.3L for mashtun addition in your equipment profile, and the volume in the water chemistry calculator is not in that mash thickness line.
     
  3. Brasserie Hecto

    Brasserie Hecto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    longueuil, QC
  4. Brasserie Hecto

    Brasserie Hecto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    longueuil, QC
    Hello, I am noticing that in my equipment profile I have my mash thickness set to 2.9 L per kg. In my recipe builder It sat qt/lb. Is this right? I am using metric so I was thinking that it would switch over automatically. Thank you for your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Brasserie Hecto

    Brasserie Hecto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    longueuil, QC
    Hello, I am noticing that in my equipment profile I have my mash thickness set to 2.9 L per kg. In my recipe builder It sat qt/lb. Is this right? I am using metric so I was thinking that it would switch over automatically. Thank you for your help!

     
  6. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,910
    Likes Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    In all of your settings, including general settings, you have it set to metric?
     
  7. Brasserie Hecto

    Brasserie Hecto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    longueuil, QC
    Yeah, they are both set to metric.
     
  8. Brasserie Hecto

    Brasserie Hecto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    longueuil, QC
    yupper
     
  9. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,910
    Likes Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    I've put in a ticket for this, and will let you know when we have it fixed. Thank you so much.
     
  10. Brewer #381074

    Brewer #381074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have the same "problem". Thing is, that it calculates l/kg correctly. It just says "qt/lb" :)
     
  11. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing BF Software Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    This should be resolved, can you please provide a picture of where you're still seeing this unit issue for mash thickness?
     

Share This Page

arrow_white