Mash Guidelines : Thickness vs Water amount

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by Yves de Champlain, Feb 27, 2017.

  1. Yves de Champlain

    Yves de Champlain New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Hi

    Is there any reason Mash thickness and Water amount are not linked in the Mash Guidelines ?

    It would be a nice&easy feature.

    Thanks !
     
  2. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,450
    Likes Received:
    9,525
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    It should give you a water to grist ratio.
     
  3. Yves de Champlain

    Yves de Champlain New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Rimouski
    It does not "give" me anything. I have to enter everything manually and for every change. Here is an exemple of screenshots of a recipe with 7 Kg of malt. Capture d'écran 2017-02-27 15.59.37.png Capture d'écran 2017-02-27 15.59.22.png
     
  4. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,977
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    your right I wish it pulled it in automatically but for now go to tools/ quick water requirements
     
  5. Yves de Champlain

    Yves de Champlain New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Yes, I do use the Quick Water Requirements, it works very well. Mine is just a very tiny feature request, no big deal !

    Thanks for the fast replies !
     
    Trialben likes this.
  6. Head First

    Head First Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,254
    Likes Received:
    2,455
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Back in the mountains
    Just curious how much trouble would it be to be able to pop in a mash thickness and the recipe builder would auto enter the mash water amount? I know this is approaching the area of everybody does it different. Maybe just integrate the QWR tool into the mash portion of the builder so as you change mash ratio the results are right there on the recipe builder? I think this was discussed a couple of years ago but don't remember the outcome.:confused:o_O
     
    underdogs likes this.
  7. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,977
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    I agree the if the quick water form can pull the readings why cant the recipe builder
     
  8. Head First

    Head First Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,254
    Likes Received:
    2,455
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Back in the mountains
    I looked back through the posts (handy search ability by the way) and Larry was stepping towards this in 2013 with mash ratio and water volume updates. Could it be possible to not have to go to QWR to get the results of water volume calculations in the Recipe Editor.
    For example if I want to maximize mash tun volume for thinnest mash possible with my system I am required to enter a mash ratio, save recipe, open tools, read resulting calculations from QWR water volumes, then enter mash water volumes into the recipe builder manually or tweek by repeating this process several times til I have maxed out the tun. If the water quantities showed up on the Recipe Builder in the Mash Guidelines portion, it would be much simpler. Make sense?o_O
     
  9. Yves de Champlain

    Yves de Champlain New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Hi

    I know I won't be the one coding it, but I think it would also be more intuitive if it worked both ways, like if you enter the water volume you get the ratio and vice versa. Especially when trying to work out the limits of a system as in Head First's example.
     
  10. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    I think I understand what you are saying, and I've brought that up to the developer, thanks!
     
    LlewellynBrewHaus likes this.
  11. Yves de Champlain

    Yves de Champlain New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Thanks to you !
     
  12. Head First

    Head First Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,254
    Likes Received:
    2,455
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Back in the mountains
    Thanks Yooper!
    We are very lucky to have the support you people bring to this site.
    I believe the mash guidelines were sort of under construction when the software changed hands.
    Had actually forgotten about it (got used to the back and forth to balance out tun) I guess until this bump.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white