Late fermentable additions and "expected" boil gravity.

Discussion in 'General Brewing Discussions' started by JimFisher, Oct 9, 2017.

  1. JimFisher

    JimFisher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Florence, AL
    OK, so I have the occasional brew that requires a late addition of sugar. The latest was a dubble that added 1lb of dark candi sugar in the last 5 minutes (the previous was a Pliny clone with 1lb of corn sugar).

    The problem is this: When I built the recipe, it calculates my "Boil gravity" as 1.044. But that assumes the sugar has been added. But the sugar is a late addition so that should NOT factor into my boil gravity. The first time I ran into this, I "undershot" my gravity so boiled off an additional 30 minutes (or so) to hit my predicted boil gravity. Then I added the sugar, saw my screw-up, and re-added the water that I had boiled off. That sucked.

    Of course I can temporarily manually remove the sugar addition to get an accurate prediction of 1.039 but I ought not have to do that. There should be an option to label that as a late addition so it so that it is not factored into the boil gravity.

    Surely there is a better way of doing that. I gotta be missing something here.

    Attached is the partial recipe noting the discrepancy. One with, and one without the sugar addition:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jeffpn

    jeffpn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The app has a Late Addition option. Surely the website does as well. Note the honey in this grain bill.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. jeffpn

    jeffpn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It does. Same recipe as above
     

    Attached Files:

  4. JimFisher

    JimFisher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Florence, AL
    What the hell? I don't have that option on the desktop version.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. jeffpn

    jeffpn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You IT guys always have a tough time! I don’t write recipes on the desktop version, but when I opened my existing recipe and edited it, I saw the option. Click the down arrow, left side of the grain.
     
    JimFisher likes this.
  6. J A

    J A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,476
    Likes Received:
    2,694
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    The option comes up on both.
     
  7. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    click the arrow to the left
     
  8. JimFisher

    JimFisher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Florence, AL
    "click the arrow to the left"

    Shit.
     
  9. JimFisher

    JimFisher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Florence, AL
    And I'm not an IT guy, Jeffpn!, I own an IT company. Big diff! . . . That my excuse, anyway.

    I somehow never saw that obnoxiously obvious, clear-as-day arrow on the left.

    Thanks all.
     
    OkanaganMike likes this.
  10. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9,400
    Likes Received:
    6,643
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Stuff happens. Welcome aboard!
     

Share This Page

arrow_white