Lager questions

J A

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Okay...I've been drinking almost exclusively homebrewed beer for the past 2 1/2 months. Some have been a little miserable and some have been really quite good, but they're all ales and I'm damn ready for some lager.
So...I'll tackle a lager brew this weekend and I need to get a handle on a few things. There's the basics of lagering, which I understand pretty well, but there's also some logistics to figure out for the particular sequence I have in mine.
First, I have grains and yeast on hand for a basic Helles. I'd like to mash that out and get it going right away. Then I'd like to put a Helles Bock on the cake as soon as I can get it out of the primary bucket.
I have a carboy for secondary/bulk lagering the Helles, but my chest freezer isn't big enough to fit the primary for the Helles Bock at the same time.

So...My choices seem to be:
1) Primary, D-rest and do a (very) short bulk lager in the bucket for the the first batch and rack directly into the bottling bucket for bottle priming/lagering. (I'd have my second batch ready to go...long ass brew day)
Or...
2) Primary and D-rest in the bucket, rack to the carboy for secondary/lagering (which takes up my chest freezer for the duration) and collect the slurry and hold it until the first batch is bulk lagered and ready to bottle. (Long time to wait to start the second batch)

The burning questions are...
Can I bottle directly out of the primary bucket after the D-rest and temp drop.?
If I can't, what's the shortest reasonable bulk lagering period (in the carboy) that I can do before I can bottle and free up my chest freezer?
Homebrewers do this sort of thing all the time. I just feel like it's got to be easier than it seems. ;)

lagering yeast takes at least 2 weeks, twice the time for ales then at least 2 to 3 week lagering and conditioning, if you want something quick use 05 yeast, ferment at 60 for 7 days then let it age and drop in the bottle