Irish Red's a little short

Thurston Brewer

Trial Member
Reaction score
I brewed up my first Irish Red Ale today - recipe here: http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/419294/irish-red-ale-01

Aside from comments about my recipe, I would like some input re: mashing. I ended up 10 points shy on OG, and I'm not sure why.

Could it be because of the short mash? Only 45 minutes because I wanted to keep a lot of body, but I checked for starch conversion and that was complete..

Could it be because I forgot to add the brown sugar in the boil and added it after the wort was cool? I stirred it pretty well and could find no sign of undissolved granules, but you never know...

Could it be because of the Maris Otter? I've never used it before, so perhaps it's just not very modified? or requires special handling?

Anyway, the yeastie beasties have custody of it now, so I'll leave it in their capable hands (they do have hands, don't they?) I hit the mash spot on and the color was great... we shall see.

How was your grain crushed? What temp did you mash at. Mash temp,is linked to fermentability of wort, time is for enzyme conversion. Did you sparge your grains. Did you BIAB?

10 points low is a fair hit
What sort of efficiency do you normally get ?
Nothing wrong with MO , converts well
temp is fine for more body , that mash thickness looks ok ( mental metric converted ) so assuming you doughed in properly and didn't have a dough ball it should have been fine

Crush was good - looked like it normally does
Single infusion, mash temp 153 °F
Batch sparged 2.5 gallons @ 140ish F
Efficiency usually right about 70% with this setup/method
Pretty sure no doughballs