Iowegian on the loose.

el Roncho

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I had signed up before but I changed emails and now I cannot use my previous email addy to get in and change to my new one...becaaaause, I have a vacation notice on my old addy and now my yahoo mail is in a continuous loop. I was hombre, and/or hombre243 but now I am el Roncho. My Dad always called me that so I kinda like it.

I am in a quandary...I used the Brewers Friend calculator to determine how much priming Dex I should use as it is my first time with Coopers Preachers Hefe, and my first batch prime. I had no idea what the carb level should be so I just went to the 4.0 recommendation. Most of my extract brews have been Coopers and none offer good head retention and very little foam anyway. Needless to say, no pretty lacing either even though I used Carapils and even maltodextrin. I have all the bottles enclosed in a cooler. No muss no fuss if everything boils over.And I wanted it to be a really good batch too.

(Of course I printed it out and then misread it. I used the wheat DME line for 5.5 gallons at the 4/0 level and the temp of 72*. Wheat DME was 14 oz. But I used Dex. That was supposed to be 10.3 oz.. I just primed it last night. How bad am I in trouble?

If I don't survive this sunami of Hefe thanks for the help anyway.

Last edited:
Sounds like a bit more carbonation for your hefes which will fit perfectly into tgis highly carbonated style of beer. Putting them in a cooler in case of explosions may be a safe idea;).

Sounds like a bit more carbonation for your hefes which will fit perfectly into tgis highly carbonated style of beer. Putting them in a cooler in case of explosions may be a safe idea;).