High Alcohol Content

Hawkeye Brewing

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hey Fellow Brewers,

So I am new to the grain brewing and learning my ways slowly but surly. Recently I tried a ESB recipe and it came out with way high alcohol content (Over 8%) and all you could taste was the alcohol so I dumped it and want to try again. The only thing I know that did not come out the way I wanted was the mash temp. I am temp using a insulated water cooler until I decide to buy a good mash ton.
I put 200 degree water in the water cooler to warm it up before mashing out then dumped it. I put my spark water in and had it at 175" expecting it to drop 15-20 degrees when I put in the grains and also being I was using a water cooler. I dumped in the grains and mashed out and put lid on. It immediately dropped to 145 degrees in the mash ton and 60 min later it was around 140 degrees. Would the alcohol content raise that much to the point it skunks the beer from the lower mash temp.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Okay, first, I use an insulated water cooler as my mash tun, works fine. And it isn't your problem. Warming the tun should have moved your temperature in the opposite direction and 175 degrees, as long as you had an adequate water to grist ratio (1.5 qt/lb or greater), should have produced a very hot mash - something is wrong here. You didn't mention stirring in the grains, I assume you did so. My guess is that you miscalculated either strike water volume or temperature. You mashed out before your rest? Mash-out is heating the mash to around 170 degrees to stop enzyme activity. That it dropped to 145 degrees - that part still confuses me. But it wouldn't have caused high alcohol content. Maybe you should share the recipe and a bit more about your process, because what you describe simply doesn't make sense.

Hey Fellow Brewers,