Hello from Munich!

Liubarskyi

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I moved from Kiev to Munich 7 months ago and fell in love with Bavarian weissbier! So I started brewing all-grain 3 weeks ago and already brewed 5 small batches: weissbier, dunkelweizen, blonde ale, porter and munich helles. I found this site very useful for creating recipes. Hope I will find new friends here!

Welcome to Germany and the site!
If I may ask, what is you setup like? I assume being in Munich you are in an apartment!?

sbaclimber, thanks!
Yes you are right, I brew in apartment though I have garage and backyard. I was inspired by one gallon batch brewing so I bought 7 liter pot and 5 liter glass carboys. I do step mash in a pot that is heated by regular kitchen stove and put it in pre-heated oven in order to keep the temperature stable. Then I filter everything through sieve to carboy and do batch sparge, then again filter to carboy. Boil, pitch and put my carboy to the room (21C for ale) or pantry (15C for lager). I also put carboys in a bowl full of water to keep the beer temp stable.

What is your setup? Do you brew in apartment too?

Yeah, I am also in an apartment and started out with a very similar setup to yours, only with slightly more volume and a heated canning pot for mashing.
After to moving to an apartment with a larger balcony with an electrical outlet, I have moved my setup semi-outside and replaced the stove with a second canning pot for boiling. The nice thing with the 3-tiers is I don't have to lug around or siphon hot water / wort any more (except to dump one pot of hot water in up top for a batch sparge).
pic here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/17-NWa_h-XLBol_cSqcaeF_uS85LWHBmp/view?usp=sharing
view