Got a problem in the Water Treatment Calculator

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by monnet, May 29, 2017.

  1. monnet

    monnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    #1 monnet, May 29, 2017
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
    Depending if I set the check box “Specify acid by target mash PH” to check. Or if I set the amount to the same number calculated I get a different result in the HCO value. Checked I get a HCO value of 264. When I specify the acid to the same amount calculated by the calculator I get a HCO value of 123. Nothing else is changed in the calculator. This can’t be right?


    If specify acid is selected, I get recommended to use 14.93 ml lactic acid

    upload_2017-5-29_23-3-3.png

    Result:
    upload_2017-5-29_23-4-23.png


    But if I set the amount of acid to 15 ml, nothing else changed I get a different result in the HCO value?
    upload_2017-5-29_23-6-12.png
    upload_2017-5-29_23-6-25.png


    upload_2017-5-29_23-8-59.png
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CRUNK

    CRUNK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    550
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    I may be wrong, but I noticed your acid percentage is entered as 80%, isn't lactic acid 88%?
     
  3. monnet

    monnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    No mine is 80%.
     
  4. CRUNK

    CRUNK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    550
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    I was wrong, someone here will help you I'm sure, as that was the only thing I noticed.
     
  5. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    well first off this calculator only works off a recipe with grain involved, you create a recipe then click on the link to the water calculator and it pulls in the grain and subtracts what the grain produces, is that what you did ?
     
  6. monnet

    monnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    #6 monnet, May 30, 2017
    Last edited: May 30, 2017
    Yes i have specified the grains and amount and collor. I usually don't have a problem calculate the the water. But for som reason it dont work now, i will try and deleate this calculation and start over and se if it helps.

    upload_2017-5-30_9-2-12.png upload_2017-5-30_9-3-0.png upload_2017-5-30_9-3-54.png upload_2017-5-30_9-5-2.png upload_2017-5-30_8-59-6.png upload_2017-5-30_9-6-14.png

    I deleted the water calcultion, and created a new white the same numbers and this error occurs again
     
  7. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,422
    Likes Received:
    9,480
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    Yep it seems as though something is up you'd think It would display the same HCO value if it was displayed or not.
     
  8. jimmyz

    jimmyz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Not sure if this relates but i normally put half the amount of lactic thn brewer friend calls for to get to my 5.2 ph. Not sure why this is?
     
  9. monnet

    monnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    #9 monnet, May 30, 2017
    Last edited: May 30, 2017
    tanx jimmyz i think you are right about that.

    I'did a competency calculation white Brun Water. and it sems that the check box “Specify acid by target mash PH” gives the wrong calculation and i think there's some kind of error when using the check box.

    The brewersfriend calulator matched the Brun Water calulator wery well when the check box is not uset. Except a slight difference regarding the lactic acid.

    upload_2017-5-30_21-16-52.png
    upload_2017-5-30_21-17-23.png
     
  10. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,422
    Likes Received:
    9,480
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    I've found I only need to add 4 ml of 88% lactic to drop most my lite larger style brews to 5.3-5.4 ph I've got soft water though so I. Not sure if that why.

    @monnet main thing is keep your ph meter handy calibrate it before mash then take a sample 10-15 min into start of mash cool it in freezer to calibrated temp for ph meter and match your actual ph reading to your brewersfriend predicted ph reading then you cAn adjust your future lactic amounts from there, savvy:rolleyes:.
     
    monnet likes this.
  11. jimmyz

    jimmyz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8

    What kind of ph meter are you using? Just curious- im looking but am not looking for a maintence nightmare.
     
  12. KC

    KC Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    NY Capital
    I bought the Milwaukee MW101. I found it can go several months between calibrations, and only the electrode needs to be replaced when it degrades after a year. Downside is it takes ~5 minutes for a stable reading. In hindsight I wish I got the MW102 with ATC because the temperature dial makes the MW101 almost useless.
     
    Trialben likes this.
  13. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,422
    Likes Received:
    9,480
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    there ya go mate;) I got mine awhile back for 30$ I found the 6.8 ph is the calibration ph I've just ordered 20 or more satchets. It's served me well so far and I find the ph value of my mash isn't far off the predicted ph value brewersfriend puts up.

    Well worth the investment that way your not flying blind.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,564
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Thanks for the screenshot and details- we are working on this right now. I'll keep you informed of what we find, and when it's fixed.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white