Glitch in Mash Ph calculation

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by royger, Mar 23, 2020.

  1. royger

    royger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hello,

    I've recently brewed this weekend using this recipe:

    https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/963374/rye-neipa

    Which uses 0.5Kg of acidulated malt and has a mash ph of ~5.3 according to the recipe. Water is also slightly adjusted. As I usually do I took a snapshot of the recipe for the brew session, and realized afterwards that the snapshot had a mash ph of ~5:

    https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/966131/rye-neipa

    I haven't touched anything on the snapshot, yet the ph is very different from the original recipe, and it makes me wonder why two identical recipes can have such a different ph. Which one is the correct one?

    Roger.
     
  2. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Hmm, I can't spot anything out of place. Grains are all classified correctly, mash guidelines are the same, water profile and adjustments are the same.

    @Yooper has a much better grasp of the water chemistry features than I do. Any ideas?
     
  3. Brewer #213358

    Brewer #213358 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I experienced this last week while editing one of my recipes to using distilled water. Try deleting a fermentable and adding it back in one at a time. That is how I got it to work.
     
  4. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    To add to the confusion, if I open the top recipe with 5.37, then copy and edit it I get a pH of 4.99 without making any changes.
     
  5. Brewer #213358

    Brewer #213358 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    If he has a water profile linked to the recipe, try deleting and relinking.
     
  6. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    3,902
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There really isn't any need to link recipes and water profiles any more.
     
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,158
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    What do you mean? If you don't have a water calc linked, the water profile really doesn't "work". You can get a mash pH estimate, but the way it works is to link a water calc to have the most accurate prediction.
     
  8. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    3,902
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hi Yooper
    What does the water calculator do that isn't done in the recipe editor?
    Select water source, select desired profile, make water additions, get results, make beer!

    water.JPG
     
  9. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,158
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    The water calc shows you the additions and the contributions they make, separates them into mash/sparge additions and calculates the mash pH if you have sparge additions, etc. You don’t have to use it- but you can’t see all of the contributions, especially if you are starting with alkaline water and want to reduce the pH of the sparge water, etc.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white