Frozen Yeast?

MrBIP

Premium Member
Reaction score
Concerned that my vials of yeast may have gotten frozen in shipment and/or sitting on the front porch for a few hours when delivered. When I cracked the lid on my WLP007 Dry English Ale Yeast, I got just the faintest of fizz and it was very thick, "gloppy". It just didn't act right or look right.

If that happened, will it still be viable? Can I trust the starting cell count based on date for calculating starter? Or, if it was frozen, will it be reduced?

English yeast always looks a bit gloppy and the fizz is possibly an indication of viability. Make a starter. If it works, your yeast is good.

I've lightly frozen wort and yeast by accident keeping them in the deep freeze too long, its fine as long as its given a slow warm up

Starter is going, so we'll see.

MrBIP said:
Starter is going, so we'll see.
I've been using WLP007 exclusively for the past 2+ years.
The "fizz" can happen, and I even had the "gloppy" for the first time the last vial ordered.
So far, no dead yeast! :D
The gloppy definitely acted differently in the starter, but still produced the amount of fresh healthy yeast I needed for my brew. The yeast I harvested from that brew has acted absolutely normally for the following 2 brews.
So, in other words, RDWHAHB ;)

Well, it appears to be fine, starter is looking like it should.
When that WL vial didn't fizz out aggressively like they always seem to do, I really thought it was bad. Usually have to be really careful and open those very slowly so as not to make a mess of it.

A small tangent on the freezing yeast thread.

I froze a whole fridge of newly conditioned beer. Not intentionally. I thawed it, reprimed it and rebottled. There was enough active yeast still there to carbonate it all a second time.