Forgot to make a starter

brewerbear

Trial Member
Reaction score
So I brewed a Maibock two days ago, everything went well except I forgot to make a starter. I'm new to brewing and haven't had to make a starter yet. I've yet to see signs of any fermentation aside from a few small bubbles at the top of the wort and just took a gravity readying of 1.062. What, if anything can I do?

Make sure it is at the right temperate range for that yeast. It could be that yeast has a naturally long lag time, or it could be the yeast was old. 1.062 is a 'strong' beer, so extra yeast would be a good idea.

Was it liquid or dry yeast?
What was the date on the package?

If you want some insurance - get another pack of the same exact yeast (but make sure it is fresh) and pitch it ASAP.

Can't remember the date on the packet but it was a Wyeast 2124 Bohemian Lager yeast

So you are doing a lager, which makes it different.

Bottom line - you really need A LOT more yeast. Not to mention, that batch is high gravity, which makes it even more critical. Lagers require more yeast because they ferment colder and slower.

Assuming you have a 5 gallon batch, I'd get at least 4 more smack packs. The yeast calculator says you need 600B cells, which would be 5 more smack packs... I know it is frustrating. I wish home brew stores sold fresh slurry of each kind of yeast in large quantities.
http://www.brewersfriend.com/yeast-pitc ... alculator/

I always do a 3L+ starter for my lagers, which is how I take one new smack pack and get it up to the right number of cells just 3 days.

They do make a dry lager yeast that you might try. That would save a few bucks. You'd need 3+ packs of that. The down side is the two strains would be potentially fighting some.

Also important, do you have it at 50F in a temperature stable area? That is where it needs to be for 3 weeks to ferment best. If you don't have that setup, then you could look into just doing an ale yeast.