First Time APA Recipe

BMFBlues

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi All

This is my first time trying to formulate my own recipe. Take a look at this pale ale and tell me if this would work:

Brew Method: Partial Mash
Style Name: American Pale Ale
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 3 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.092
Efficiency: 35% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.055
Final Gravity: 1.017
ABV (standard): 5.06%
IBU (tinseth): 32.07
SRM (morey): 4.57

FERMENTABLES:
5 lb - Liquid Malt Extract - Extra Light (40.8%)
5 lb - American - Pale 2-Row (40.8%)
0.25 lb - Flaked Wheat (2%)
2 lb - American - Carapils (Dextrine Malt) (16.3%)

HOPS:
1 oz - Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Boil for 30 min, IBU: 17.23
1 oz - Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Aroma for 10 min, IBU: 8.13
1.5 oz - Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Aroma for 5 min, IBU: 6.7
1 oz - Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Aroma for 0 min

Wheat is added for head retention, and the Carapils to boost ABV a tad. I had heard late-addition hopping can sometimes produce better aroma and flavor, while still getting the bitterness needed. Anyway, how does this look?

have no issues with that beer and will be good, I have another similar, lets us know

woops read that wrong, 2 pounds of carapils not a good idea, it adds more head than wheat and the extract has carapils in it, I would cut that back to .5 lb and add corn sugar or more dme

Thanks! I was listening to an old episode of Brewing With Style, and Jamil suggested using Carapils to boost ABV and wheat for head retention. Should I ditch the wheat all together if I have the Carapils, or will the wheat help with foam?

today carapils is what we use for head retention and wheat will some what bland out the beer taste if enough is used, its up to you to keep the wheat, some people just like the taste, I use it for watering down my flavor some in a pale ale
according to the Briess website