First non-kit homebrew

blitzkrieg.hop

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello guys.

I'm really enjoying these posts and finding all of the threads extremely helpful. I thought I would put what I am planning to do out there and see what feedback I get from seasoned pro's like yourself as I am a massive rookie. so here goes.

I've made a couple of kits and wanted to replicate the format of these into a bit of an experiment to try and start drilling down and establishing my own recipe that I would like to work on and perfect over time.

I'm going for (on paper) an orange and grapefruit IPA:

Plan is (I don't have a recipe to follow):

Make a 3 litre solution with the malt extract/malt+sugar and boiling water. I'm going to then top it up to 23 litres with cold water. Allow to cool to around 24°C and add the yeast (not sure whether to add the peel at this stage or during the initial stage with the extract etc.

I'd be keen to know what peoples advice would be at this point. The Kit formats have said to add the hops at 7 days but other advice is to add it at the start? Bear in mind it's a no boil extract brew.

I plan to ferment over 2 weeks in total at which point I will siphon from the fermenting barrel into the pressurised barrel for storage/serving. Once transferred I intend to add the apricot booster, allow to settle for a couple of days and then pump with CO2.

Thoughts/advice welcome. I'm a total newbie and keen to learn! I'm having trouble translating this recipe and method into the recipe calculator as not entirely sure what to populate the fields with.

Thanks,