First All-Grain Batch, What do I do?

McAvinbrew

Trial Member
Reaction score
So the time has finally arrived and Im all set for my first day of All Grain brewing. The mash tun and an assortment of grain arrived so now Im looking at what I can make. Im hoping to make a relatively simple wheat beer something sessionable and a little zesty. As I said Im a rookie at this so any recipe tips are welcome. It was recommended I could go simple and just try a simple wheat grain recipe with just some citra hops at the end to make it a little citrus.

I was thinking of going 6lb of Heidelberg Wheat Malt, 2lb of 2 row, 2lb of Pilsner, 1/2lb of Carapils. Maybe 1/4oz citra for bittering and 1oz on 60mins. Any advice or suggested changes are appreciated.

Here is everything I have on hand for the weekend.

10lb of 2-Row Malt - OiO
6lb of Heidelberg Wheat Malt - BestMalz
6lb of Wheat Malt - OiO
2lb of Pilsner Malt - Weyermann
4lb of Vienna Malt - Weyermann
2lb of CaraAroma - Weyermann
1lb of Carapils - Briess

4oz of Citra Hops

4oz of Elderflowers

3.3lb of extra light LME
3lb of light DME

Nottingham Ale Yeast (Dry)
White Labs WLP001 California Ale Yeast
Wyeast 3068 - Weihenstephan Weizen

Thanks in advance.

Citra is great. To really get that citrus punch, keep most of the additions towards the end, say 30 mins and later. Maybe have .5 oz or so at 60, depending on how the IBUs look with that grain bill.
With all that wheat, I think the carapils is unnecessary. Maybe try some vienna to give it a little toasty flavor. I did a toasted wheat red ipa a bit ago, and that flavor was a nice touch.
Keep it clean with wlp001.

No idea what elderflowers would do, but maybe split the batch and dry hop one with them?
Good luck!