(DONE) Small bug in Yeast Pitching Calculator

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by Luca, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. Luca

    Luca New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I found a small bug in the yeast pitching calculator. If you mark the "Starter - Step 2" or "Starter Step 3" then go to another page and hit BACK on your browser, the checkbox gets out of sync, ie. it may be marked but the step info is not displayed or vice-versa. You can see this in the screenshot:


    In the screenshot you can see that Step 2 is checked but closed and Step 3 is unchecked but open.
    I guess the problem is that the page opens/closes the info when the checkbox is clicked ("onClick"), regardless of what the actual value of the checkbox is.

    I'm running Chrome (Version 24.0.1312.52) on Debian.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: Small bug in Yeast Pitching Calculator

    Drat those back button bugs!!!! We'll check it out.
     
  3. Luca

    Luca New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Small bug in Yeast Pitching Calculator

    This is really a small bug and maybe not even worth splatting it. Even though things get reverted, it still works. ;)

    I just noticed it because I went to read the yeast starter article and then moved back.
     
  4. perogi

    perogi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Re: Small bug in Yeast Pitching Calculator

    Checkboxes are the devil when it comes to web programming :evil:
     
  5. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: Small bug in Yeast Pitching Calculator

    Firefox and Chrome act differently when the back button is used, going back to a page that has form or sections rendered with AJAX. We've spent a good deal of time smoothing that out in the recipe editor, and the recipe search page. Hopefully this one is simple, but as you say it is minor. That said our belief is to fix bugs first before writing new code.
     
  6. Luca

    Luca New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Small bug in Yeast Pitching Calculator

    Just noticed another thing in the same scope. The "Yeast Type" field also behaves in a similar way. If you press "Back" on Chrome (at least), it still shows my previously selected "Liquid Yeast", but below it, it shows the options for dry yeast instead.
     
  7. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: (NEXT RELEASE) Small bug in Yeast Pitching Calculator

    The back button bugs described will be fixed in the next release. Turns out on Chrome and Safari were getting into the confused page state after navigating away and then coming back to the calculator. IE and Firefox reset the form from scratch when navigating back to it.

    Thanks for reporting it!

    Also, liquid yeast will now be the default.
     
  8. Luca

    Luca New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: (NEXT RELEASE) Small bug in Yeast Pitching Calculator

    Great! Thanks for fixing it. Also, I like the idea of making liquid yeast the default, as that's probably the most used option (with the calculator anyway). ;)
     
  9. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    This is fixed! Thanks again for reporting it.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white