(DONE) Auto Inventory quantity removal?

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by Lionheart, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. Lionheart

    Lionheart New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, Florida
    I love the inventory feature. Is there a way when you brew a recipe it could auto deduct the grains, hops, extract, ect. that is stored in inventory?
     
  2. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: Auto Inventory quantity removal?

    Yes! That is on the TODO list, not sure what release it will go into.
     
  3. Lionheart

    Lionheart New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, Florida
    Re: Auto Inventory quantity removal?

    Awesome! This site rocks!
     
  4. jammin

    jammin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Auto Inventory quantity removal?

    Glad someone already brought this up - I was thinking the same thing.

    Totally agree - this site DOES rock!
     
  5. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: Auto Inventory quantity removal?

    Support for deducting from inventory (with option not to, and override for each qty), will be going out in the next release. On the Brew screen a table will come up with the ingredients the system matched between the recipe and your inventory. This was a bit challenging because of all the unit conversions in play.

    By the way, we wrote the backend logic in such a way so it lays the ground work for adding a recipe to a shopping list, then converting the shopping list to inventory.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Lee Tucker

    Lee Tucker New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Re: Auto Inventory quantity removal?

    Love it!
     
  7. Kaiser

    Kaiser Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Auto Inventory quantity removal?

    I like this too.
     
  8. sbaclimber

    sbaclimber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Germany
    Re: Auto Inventory quantity removal?

    Awesome!
     
  9. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    The inventory deduction option is now live. Try it out and let us know how it goes.
     
  10. Luca

    Luca New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just used the inventory deduction on my recipe (I think this feature is great!), but for some reason it deducted everything but the hops.

    I have 250g of Cascade in my inventory and my recipe asks for 130g, but it didn't get deducted.
     
  11. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Double check the AA and hop type. It has to be an exact match. When you go to the Brew screen it will show you if it matched it up or not.
     
  12. Luca

    Luca New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah, makes sense. The AA is different in the recipe from what I bought (7% vs 7.3%).

    Maybe I should have made a snapshot of the recipe and updated the AA in it. But then it would be too late, because the deduction would have already occurred, right?

    In practice, the AA from hops you buy will almost always differ from the one in the recipe. And it doesn't make much sense to adjust the actual recipe every time you brew it, just because the AA is different, does it?

    What do you think?
     
  13. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Depends on how far off the AA value is. In that case, it is high by ~4%.

    I have seen cases where Hallertaur was around 5.5 AA and the recipe called for 4 AA, so that was a 37% difference - enough to probably notice.

    Right, the snapshot is created after the fact. We could relax the AA match and just do the deduction based on variety and hop type only.

    Any thoughts on that?
     
  14. Luca

    Luca New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I meant to adjust the snapshot recipe without adjusting the original one. I think the original recipe should not be changed each time the AA of your hops change. What you should do is to adjust the hops you *use* when brewing the recipe, according to the actual AA of your hops.


    Not sure this would be ideal, because I may end up using more (or less) hops depending on my actual AA.

    What about deducing the ingredients from the inventory "as we go". When you mark mash complete, you deduce the malt (according to the snapshot, in case something was changed); when you finish the boil, deduce hops and other things that are added at that time; and so on.

    Would that be too complicated? Maybe not really worth all the trouble? I'm just throwing in ideas here, I think the deductions are already great as it is. But as a true nerd, I usually go into too much nitpicking. :ugeek:
     
  15. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Interesting idea that when you check off certain steps it would use up inventory. Not everyone uses the brew steps feature though. I think we'll just leave it as-is for now, or maybe have an 'ignore hops AA' checkbox on the inventory deduction section.
     
  16. -MG-

    -MG- New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Being new to the software, correct me if I'm wrong.

    But what if you give us the ability to create a recipe with inventory? If I select a hop that I have two different AA versions for, give me the choice to select which I want.

    Or give this option when I go to brew it offering me the option to select which version I want?
     
  17. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    The hops section in the recipe editor will default the AA to the last one with that name listed in your inventory.

    The system could look in your inventory and offer alternatives, but given this is a corner case, I'm not sure it would get used that much. Not to mention, it could throw off the IBUs quite a bit. I think the brewer should be in control of the recipe design the entire time.

    We'd need to identify additional corner cases, like this one, and see how often they present a problem. There are bigger items related to other aspects of the system to get to in the short/medium run.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white