Default Packaging Size - for Carbs & Calorie Calculation

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by AHarper, Nov 19, 2019.

  1. AHarper

    AHarper Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    153
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    I have mentioned this before but it has been lost in translation I suspect - or ditched as a bad idea (more likely) - however I will try again to see if any others might find it useful.
    Unlike what seems to be the default volume used in calculating Calories and Carbs (355ml) I use 500ml as my preferred bottle size (~= 1 pint) and it would be most useful to me if the calculations displayed on the Editing screen under the Advanced Recipe Options and Stats section were to use this volume. It would be best organised if the Default Packaging size was an option on the Profile page - that way everyone can select their preferred size and make the calculations relevant to them.

    I have mocked up some graphics of what I have in mind.

    Editing Page:
    upload_2019-11-19_17-42-25.png

    Profiles Page:
    upload_2019-11-19_17-44-30.png
     
  2. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    3,079
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Maybe even more likely, BF had bigger fish to fry getting the software back in working order.

    You would think that as all of the math is already there, it should be pretty simple to achieve this.
     
    AHarper likes this.
  3. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Can't say where it is on the to-do list, as I can only see what issues/requests I've submitted, and things that are ready for testing.

    I would think that this is a fairly easy feature to implement, as the math is straightforward and it should be able to fit into the profile settings easily.

    Personally I'd prefer it to be a user input text box, with the default setting tied to the user profile. That way it should cover any use case, if you always use 500mL bottles you can set it to that and never have to worry about it. If you use different packages, you can quickly change it on the recipe page without having to open a new tab/window.
     
    AHarper likes this.
  4. AHarper

    AHarper Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    153
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    Yes that sounds OK to me. I was trying to cut down on the clutter of the Edit screen with extra options but if that can be done then great. It's only a small point I know - just another Wish on the list.
     
  5. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,106
    Likes Received:
    4,915
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Will the sizing be both in conventional and squirrel?
     
    jmcnamara likes this.
  6. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    We'll make sure to support both conventional and modern gmo squirrel units.
     
    thunderwagn and Yooper like this.
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    1,116
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    I checked into this, to see how it would work and I’ll keep you posted!
     
    AHarper and Pricelessbrewing like this.

Share This Page

arrow_white