Default equipment profile is not defaulting

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by Brewer #53034, Oct 9, 2019 at 7:27 PM.

  1. Brewer #53034

    Brewer #53034 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My profile has "Grainfather Normal" set as the default:
    upload_2019-10-9_14-26-26.png

    When I create a recipe it is set to "Grainfather LODO" be default:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    929
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    When you click "brew" in the recipe, does the Grainfather Normal come up?
     
  3. Brewer #53034

    Brewer #53034 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    "Brew" will carry over whatever equipment profile is selected in the recipe. If I leave the wrong default "Grainfather LODO" it takes that to the brew sessions, if I change the equipment to "Grainfather Normal" it will take that to the brew session.
     
  4. Brewer #53034

    Brewer #53034 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Also, when creating a new recipe the first thing I do is select the equipment profile since there are so many values associated with this profile like efficiency, evap. rate, mash thickness, etc. It seems like none of these values change over automatically to the values that should be associated with the equipment profile.

    For example:
    Grainfather LODO equip. profile, I have mash thickness set to 1.75 qt/lb.
    Grainfather Normal equip. profile, I have mash thickness set to 1.75 qt/lb.
    Test Batch equip. profile, I have mash thickness set to 1.8 qt/lb.

    If I start a new recipe and switch between the default profil ethese profiles (without inputting ANY other values), the mash thickness value does not change based on the selected equpi. profile. It just stays with the initial value set by the default equip. profile. Is this expected behavior?
     
    thunderwagn likes this.
  5. thunderwagn

    thunderwagn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    2,499
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    Nope. My opinion is that your recipe should auto adjust to any equipment profile you decide to use on any given brew day. It makes ZERO sense to have to create a new recipe for anytime you want to change profiles.
     
    Pricelessbrewing and DanC like this.
  6. Brewer #53034

    Brewer #53034 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It makes me concerned that it's not accounting for different evap rates, misc. losses, etc, which could explain why I've had such trouble hitting OGs and volumes when switching between equipment profiles.

    I understand that this may not be not a super common use case, most probably only have 1 set of equipment. I have 2 sets, one for 5+ gallon batches (with two configurations) and one for 1-gallon batches.
     
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    929
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Thank you for the thorough explanation. I've put in a support ticket for this, and will keep you posted.
     
  8. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7,271
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Plus one to this!
     
  9. uk_brewer

    uk_brewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    West Dundee, IL
    This 100%. I have a few setups, braumeister, 3 vessel rims system, cooler and Kettle.
     
  10. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7,271
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Definitely.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white