Custom Brew Steps

Discussion in 'Testers Needed!' started by avantassel, Sep 14, 2018.

Tags:
  1. avantassel

    avantassel Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Brewer and Software Engineer
    Location:
    Lafayette, CO
    Home Page:
    A lot of people have asked for this and we now have a custom brew steps update on beta if anyone wants to try it out.

    You can create steps here

    https://beta.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/profile/brew_steps

    Then on a new brew session these will load in and can be further changed under the brew steps tab.
     
  2. White Haus Brews

    White Haus Brews Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Nurse
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, CA
    Looks great! I'll give it a try for next brew day. Just a quick comment from first glance - Could this be set up like the equipment profiles where you can create as many different Brew Steps as you'd like and then select the set you want when you start your brew session? Just thinking some people may occasionally decoct, BIAB with and without sparge, or a million other ways home brewers like to make life more complicated for themselves without having to customize the brew/setup steps each time. Thanks for all your hard work!
     
  3. avantassel

    avantassel Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Brewer and Software Engineer
    Location:
    Lafayette, CO
    Home Page:
    Hi, no multiple profiles for brew steps, we are trying to keep it simple. In this case I could add a Sparge step to your defaults under BIAB and when you brew if you decide not to use it then remove it from the brew session.
     
  4. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    For the "time" in the pre-mash steps, that was a little confusing but I see that we can move it up/down as needed. I see that we'd need a "time" for the mash or boil steps usually.
     
  5. White Haus Brews

    White Haus Brews Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Nurse
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, CA
    Fair enough. I suppose a lot of the customization is built in through what's being pulled from the recipe anyway so that would cover some of the various things people might do. Thanks!
     
  6. tootodea@gmail.com

    [email protected] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've inadvertently deleted the timers for my hop additions, any ideas how to get it back into my brew steps.
    They were there yesterday but I was having issues with my mash timers that I ended up having to enter manually and had a dopey moment and deleted all boil timer steps.
    cheers toot
     
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    You've deleted them as brew steps, or as timed additions in the recipe? If you deleted them as brew steps, you can edit that and put them back. Can you explain where this was?
     
  8. tootodea@gmail.com

    [email protected] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    'In the boil section-
    All boil steps;selecting this option will toogle all boil steps'
    Was deleted and i assume this is why all my timed addition have been deleted from my boil brew steps.
     
  9. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Yes, that would do it! You can put back the ones you need, instead of toggling them all off, and then have it customized to your needs.
     
  10. tootodea@gmail.com

    [email protected] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Many thanks Yooper,i will try that.
    My main concern is if this is going to mean i have to change my customized brew steps in the boil section(for my hop additions)every time i do a different recipe?
    Previously all timed hop additions from recipe(s) carried over into the customized brew steps,which is obviously more ideal as once customized brew steps is set up it would be great if you don't have to modify it for each recipe/brew session.
    Happy Brewing
    Cheers toot
     
  11. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Once you have the steps you want individually, they will all carry over to the next recipe as well. I use the same brew steps every brew, and don't change them.
     
  12. PutnamBrew

    PutnamBrew Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Putnam/Dayville, CT
    Is there anyway to get it to read what the Expected Kettle Volume should be at the end of the boil? I know I can make a brew log entry, click on Boil complete and it gives me the amount there...anyway It can be incorporated in the brew steps?
     
    Yooper likes this.
  13. Mark Farrall

    Mark Farrall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Having a play with this today. Very nice.

    Some of the play was on Chrome on the phone (Pixel 2XL). Really struggled to check the checkboxes on the mash steps using the touch approach. No trouble checking them on the laptop using the touch screen. The phone resolution is pretty good, but it was small enough to force the reflow of the checkbox and label onto two lines.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white