Cheers from LA!

BrutusBrew

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello all! First post here!

I have been brewing for about 3 months now, so I know NOTHING. I have about 5 batches under my belt so far, with only 1 being what I would call "unshareable". All part of the learning curve, right?

Currently just brewing extract, but plan on getting into BIAB at some point. I live in LA and do not have AC in my home, so brewing in the summer will be a challenge unless I upgrade my fermenter to have a chilling system. That is something under consideration at the moment, but I have a few months to pull that trigger.

Starting to comb through the forum and read up on all the tidbits of knowledge. Grateful for all the knowledge here and looking forward to applying it to improving my brewing!

-Brad

Welcome from Southwestern Ontario! Definitely look into Kveik yeast. I am just cold crashing a brew done with VOSS Kveik at the moment. I kept it at 30C (86F) to ferment, it works quick too. I think it is comfortable well into the 90s.

Welcome!

Your weather and temperatures won't be a problem: look up Kviek yeast and note the normal fermentation temperatures.

5 brews is non-trivial, you are well on your way.

Awesome, and thank you! That solves that problem! :)

Cheers!
You my man are standing in front of a massive brewing mountain enjoy the journey where all here ( hypothetically) on brew mountain with you. Enjoy.

Welcome from just down Interstate 5, in Anaheim. This is a great forum for knowledge, encouragement and camaraderie.

Welcome!
Yes, look into kveik, but also diffetent yeast in winter.
Plonk the fermenter in a coolbox to level out day/night temperature fluctuations

Welcome! Sounds like you're well on your way with 5 batches under your belt so far. Nothing wrong with extract brewing at all.

Thanks everyone! Very refreshing to see such a supportive community in an online forum. I am used to forums being nothing but flame sessions lol