Can I make this freezer a fermentation chamber?

Discussion in 'General Brewing Discussions' started by John Quiroga, Jan 10, 2018.

?

Is it possible?

  1. Yes

    5 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Rat Terrier

    Rat Terrier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  2. jeffpn

    jeffpn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Use a temperature controller.

    Nice website you linked. They sell freezers. I wonder how many they have to sell? Welcome to the forum.
     
  3. Rat Terrier

    Rat Terrier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you have a temperature controller you recommend?
     
  4. jeffpn

    jeffpn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I use an stc-1000. Others use an Inkbird.
     
  5. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    honestly those are a little pricey just for home brew but if its yours go for it mine just cost $200 with the temp controller, those are in the thousands
     
  6. Rat Terrier

    Rat Terrier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    They are pricey. My family owned a grocery store and had it lying around.
     
  7. thunderwagn

    thunderwagn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    7,265
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    ChaChing! Score!
     
    Trialben likes this.
  8. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    so this is the new plug and play controller, the key with these is figuring out the settings because each freezer or fridge has slow or fast compressors and you need to set it up accordantly to yours for a delay plus you have to set up the time to stop and start based on the temp to prevent the overshooting, once you figure it out it works perfect

    https://www.homebrewing.org/Inkbird...MI8retrsTM2AIVgrfACh2IRgTxEAQYAiABEgLa3PD_BwE
     
  9. Rat Terrier

    Rat Terrier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Should the probe go on the carboy or secured to the side of the freezer interior?
     
  10. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    either way is fine, if in the carboy you'll need a thermal well, but in the freezer air space is fine too
     
  11. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,432
    Likes Received:
    9,490
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    I tape mine to side of fermentation bucket covered with insulation. Haven't been fused YET about more dialled in temp control I think a stable temp which in yeast specific ferment temps is good enough for me.
     
  12. Group W

    Group W Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    The controller in the link OMB provides works well for me. I have two of them. Like others, I just locate the controller temp probe on the side or top of the fermenter (carboy or bucket). Of course you will need a heat source wrapped around your fermenter (firmwrap, belt, etc) that plugs into the heating side of your controller.

    That will be a nice setup with the door on the front. Lifting 6 gallon batches into a top loading chest freezer is a pain in the back.

    Enjoy! :)
     
  13. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    I actually set my fermenter on top of the temp probe and it works well and its easy
     
  14. philjohnwilliams

    philjohnwilliams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    426
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Verdun, quebec
    The Inkbird controller is great, you can't beat $35 for an easy to use dual stage unit that is ready to go out of the box. The only possible problem is that they have a maximum output rating of 1000w, and those freezers look like they might draw more than that. The information plate on the freezer should tell you the maximum power usage, as long as you are under 1000w (about 10A) you are good to go.
    I tape the probe to the side of my carboy and cover it with insulation so that it reads the temp in the carboy as closely as possible. Others have had good results with different probe placements, try a few and see what works best for you.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white